January Crawl +thank you from NYCnash

For me, 2014 was many things, not all of them good. But launching NYCnash lit the fire under me again as a writer. The blog has engaged me with the arts community in Nashville and has been responsible for me meeting so many funny, wise, talented people. I started NYCnash to help me get out and explore the city. I thought it also might get me writing again. My partner suggested the theme, a New Yorker’s Guide to Nashville, and though it resembles that less and less, it’s gone a long way in helping me feel at home. I’m really grateful that people actually read it, and I’m going to continue writing about what I discover here.

This Saturday I’ll don my long underwear for the first art crawl of the year. I plan to head downtown early to check out COOP Gallery’s exhibition of work from new members. From the press release:

McLean Fahnestock’s inkjet prints from her Rocketless Launch series evoke the shared experience of NASA mission broadcasts and question the future of space travel. Nick Hay’s ‘zine excerpts illustrate and detail an email exchange between a West African doctor and a proclaimed centaur hunter. Angela D. Lee’s photographic prints construct mysterious family histories. Robert Scobey’s plaster sculpture of a My Buddy doll allegorizes progress and tragedy through a lens of childhood imagination.

Print

COOP Gallery will show work from McLean Fahnestock, Nick Hay, Angela D. Lee, and Robert Scobey at Saturday’s art crawl.

Over at WAG, two Watkins juniors show paintings. Marlos E’van describes his show Funkhaus as having“an element of style, grace, violence, disorder and anything bordered. I intend to capture the grace of existence and present it in its elemental nature.” I’m really looking forward to seeing Aaron Harper Space Between Things, “featuring works derived from the experience of walking and driving around the city of Nashville during the night.” That will probably do it for my downtown crawling, although The Arts Company has Michael Weintrobe’s Instrumenthead, which I saw at OZ. It’s worth checking out in person because of the sheer size of the portraits.

amy pleasant

Gallery view of Amy Pleasant’s “re/form” at White Space (Atlanta). Pleasant will show at the Packing Plant January 3.

The Packing Plant has Amy Pleasant who is showing Around and Between, a new body of work that features paintings and a series of cutouts arranged as an archaeological dig. Pleasant’s work is thoughtful, often ambiguous in a way that makes us consider different possibilities. Her exhibition “re/form” at Whitespace (Atlanta) was named one of the best exhibitions in 2014 in BURNAWAY by artist Jiha Moon (see my picks, too). I can never get comfortable in the raw walls and chilly draft at the Packing Plant, which adds a fun element of precariousness to the installations, and curator Ann Catherine Carter has been bringing relevant, complex artists to this pop-up space. Around and Between will also host a closing reception January 8 from 5-8 pm, in case you miss it. Also in Wedgewood/Houston: It’s your last chance to see Greg Pond’s The Place You Will Wait for the Rest of Your Life at Seedspace, but before you go, read these two articles by Joe Nolan and Sara Estes. Louisville’s Dougas Lucas will present a sound installation at Fort Houston, Zeitgeist will have photography by Jeremiah Ariaz and paintings by Lain York, Julia Martin will present new paintings by Harry Underwood, and David Lusk will have Ted Faiers’ paintings and woodcuts. See you there!

One comment

  1. Sounds like you’ll have a very busy day!! I don’t live in Nashville and don’t know much about art, but have learned so much from your writings here. You’ve got an amazing blog right here in this space 🙂

Don't be an idiot.

